one monkey

My knitting on the trip was one Monkey sock and I finished it shortly after we got here. It was made with Sweet Georgia yarn, in Honey Fig which I bought when I was in Halifax this past winter.

one monkey

Being unemployed and all, I decided to make my own sock blockers out of a plastic place mat from the dollar store. They are multi-functional as they can be used as guides when figuring out all that math that comes with knitting.

former placemat

Since finishing the log cabin blanket, which Tomma uses nearly every day FYI, I have been casting on new projects like a mad woman. I currently have a wool soaker (also for Tomma), the beginnings of a Charade sock, the second Monkey, and I’ve finally put some time into some projects that were started last fall.

Tomorrow I’m going to Vancouver and will be there until Sunday. I think I’ll buy yarn to knit this sweater that I’ve been drooling over since seeing the preview last month. On Thursday, I will turn the big 2-5, a full quarter century. It seems like the right time to start my first sweater.

5 thoughts on “one monkey

  1. You have been busy! I too have been drooling over that sweater, but I have three others in line first. 25 does seem to be an auspicious time to start a sweater; kind of a milestone! Happy birthday tomorrow!

  2. homemade sock blockers. you are so hardcore jen. I don’t think I’ve ever blocked a sock. Obviously this is what my life has been missing out on.

    I just wanted you to know, I haven’t abandoned you and your (oh-so-belated) b-day socks. I have actually ripped them out 3 times now, and they need to be ripped out again. I can’t seem to bring myself to do the 4th sacrifice so they are sitting in my knitting bag thinking about what they’ve done. I don’t know why i’m having such a problem with them, i’ve done the pattern a zillion times, but I can’t seem to get them to be the right size (as the foot you drew for me). What size are your feet (in Eu. sizing preferably)? Could you measure your foot for me? from toe to ball of your foot and from toe to heel? Maybe then I can do this.

    Also, what do you think of wordpress? I’m thinking of starting a non-lj blog and was waffling between wordpress, blogspot and typepad. Any reason for one over the other?

    you can always email me at the above email too.

    x0x

Leave a Reply

