oh, hello!

Woops. Where did those last two months go? I have obviously fallen behind on my blog updates but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been keeping up with my regular online haunts. However, a lot has happened since the last time I posted way back in April!

1. I got a new job! I’m working at a women’s clinic and learning tons about women’s health, public health policy, doctors in Victoria (particularly those who are/are not pro-choice), and have met so many pleasant midwives and women’s health care professionals.

day one.

2. At the end of May we drove down to central Washington for Sasquatch and met up with friends from Vancouver, Saskatoon, and Toronto. After three days of roasting in the sun and listening to excellent indie bands, we drove for 19 hours straight to Saskatchewan for a week long visit there. Saskatoon will always and forever have a place in my heart. You know those places where everything just feels right? The city and community just seem to open their arms and give you big hugs? That’s Saskatoon for me. It was lovely. We went to Silas’ parents farm for a few days as well where I always feel so humbled. Seeing hard-working communities that feed people makes me feel so appreciative. Farmers do not get enough respect.

rings

3. After being back home for only two weeks, Silas and I packed our bags up again for a weekend trip to Calgary to see our dear friend Samantha marry a lovely man named Jason. We got to catch up with Calgary friends, including some of whom I have known for 6 years all thanks to the internet, as well as my old roommate Barry whom I lived with in my third year of university.

happy friday

4. Summer has finally granted Victoria with its presence. Today for example, there isn’t a cloud in the sky and the market was bustling with people, and I was soaked with sweat after my bike ride home. It was a chilly spring, so chilly in fact that we were worried about our composting worms being outside. But no need to worry about that now. Which gives away number 5 on the “new things since last post” list…

5. We started vermi-composting!

6. I’ve been biking to work which is about an 8.5km ride each way. Silas read this book called The Blue Zones for a freelance story he was writing; it’s about areas of the world where people live the longest and their habits and diets that may contribute to long active lives. One of the things is incorporating exercise in to your daily routine (like communiting to work or gardening) instead of putting time aside for exercise (such as going to the gym or running marathons). I’m not biking every day but I’m hoping to keep it up for at least 3 days a week.

So. That’s what’s been going on with me. We have dedicated ourselves to paying off some credit card debt, so Silas and I have been on a very tight budget for the past month. Once the debt is gone, we’re going to start some serious saving to start a little cushion for when the time comes to (eep!) get a mortgage. This is very difficult for a spendy person such as myself. Silas is very good money and I am terrible with saving. The only major planned purchases are new bikes for ourselves, which won’t happen until after we sell our car. Luckily we have interested buyers and we’ll still have the luxury of driving for the rest of the summer (for day trips and camping) as the interested buyers aren’t moving here until the end of August.

As for crafting, I’ve been kniting a few different projects and finishing some long term projects that didn’t need to take as long as they did. Currently on the needles are my Tangled Yoke cardigan and the Lace Ribbon scarf. I finished up a pair of socks for Dan’s birthday and a few nights ago sewed up a pouch (with my sister’s guidance) to hold my current knitting project. Here are some pictures!

BIL socks

linen pouch w/applique

lining

That’s all for now. I promise I won’t be such a stranger any more.

2 thoughts on “oh, hello!

  1. Hope the new job is going well 🙂 You know what … the other day on the way back from my midwife appointment I thought “Jen would totally make an amazing midwife”! random I know 😛

  2. Yay! you are back!

    i’m so glad to hear about your happies.

    some times i think that you and i are the so much the same person and i seriously wonder why we didn’t hang out more when you were here!

    i’m all about my bike lately and doing ‘work’ in my everyday. it feels so good to do things and use my body in a healthy way!

    hope you’re enjoying your visit with steph!

Leave a Reply

